Clubs and Societies Person of the Year 2014

Clubs and Societies Person of the Year 2014


This student will join the very fine company of recent past winners like Sally Flynn, Sarah de Lacy, Niamh Pierce, Lisa Corish,  Lauren Aherne, Ciara Griffen 

To win Clubs and Societies Person of the year, you must display certain honourable characteristics. Traits like commitment, passion, cooperation, dedication, willing to go that extra mile  come to mind and I can safely say this year’s winner displays all of these and more. This student has participated in nearly every available club and society since she was in first year. From a leading team player on the basketball field to a prominent member of the concern debating team, this student has excelled.

In her own quiet way, she has been determined to succeed and this has been reflected in many milestones. She represented her school at the BT Young Scientist Exhibition in 2012,  selected  for Comenius Exchange Programme to represent the school on the topic of Early Schol Leaving in Spain last week, and had the award winning project at Scifest.

She has a great love for sport and has represented her school on the Basketball team and has even been the only student in her year group to attend Tag Rugby Training and she is a valuable  member of the current team. She is also a keen soccer player and has just arrived here from Soccer training. Yes, that is called commitment!!!

She is also dedicated  to her school and the welfare of all our students and this is shown in the work she has done with the Green Schools Committee, Amnesty  and contributions that   she makes  for the school’s online newsletter.

 She also displays a great grá for the Gaeilge, and  this year has given her time freely to tutor Junior students during lunchtime. She has also been a prominent member of the Gael Linn Debating team over the years and has represented the school with  great pride

I could go on but I am sure you can all see why this year’s most deserving winner of the Clubs and Societies person of the year, goes to Danielle  McGouran.